## **MINUTES**

# EIANZ ACT Division Annual General Meeting



Thursday, 24 August 2023 Ground floor, 480 Northbourne Avenue, Dickson 8.00 – 9.30am

#### WELCOME

#### a. Attendance and apologies

#### Attendees:

Chris Murphy Andrey Gallagos Megan Evers
Carolyn Cameron Natalie Heller Rochelle Christian
Alexander Garrett Kelly Lee Robert Speirs
Leah McKenzie Phillipa Marks Katie Boulton
Paul Keighley Dr. Su Wild River

#### **Proxies:**

Chris Gunton
Andrew Palmer-Brodie
Dugal McFarlane
Naomi Maxwell

### **Apologies:**

David Hogg

#### 2. MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Motion: That the minutes of the EIANZ ACT Division Annual General Meeting held on 25 August 2022 be accepted as a true and correct record.

Moved: Chris Murphy Seconded: Robert Speirs

In Favour: All Against: Nil Carried

#### 3. ACT PRESIDENT'S REPORT

Chris Murphy presented the President's Report. He expressed thanks to the ACT Division Committee members for their various contributions over the year. Highlights of the committee through the year:

- Second biodiversity offset conference July 2022 well attended
- Impact assessment symposium June 2023 well attended over 220 participants
- Women in Environment breakfast September 2022
- Canberra Environment Soil short Course October 2022
- ACT Christmas event December 2022

Chris also noted that ACT membership and certification numbers are down slightly:

• 80 members as of 30 June 2023, slightly reduced since 2019 but slowly increasing.

#### 4. ACT TREASURER'S REPORT

Chris presented the financial report for the ACT Division for the 2022-2023 financial year. The ACT Division is in a very strong financial position.

- Slight loss of \$505
- Balance ~\$48,021 in June 2023

This provides the Division with sufficient funds to confidently invest in future initiatives, focusing in delivering valued events to members.

#### 5. ELECTION OF THE ACT DIVISIONAL COMMITTEE

The following were elected to serve on the Committee for the coming year:

President: Chris Murphy
Vice-President: Phillipa Marks

Treasurer: vacant
Secretary: Kelly Lee

**General Committee Members:** Carolyn Cameron, Alexander Garrett, Dugal McFarlane, Robert Speirs, Natalie Heller, Andrey Gallegos, Katie Boulton

#### 6. GENERAL BUSINESS

- a) Event hosted by ACT EPA Dr. Su Wild-River
- b) Slightly increased budget for AGM meeting.
- c) Send thank you note/gift card to Yashi's contribution over the years as student/young career representative (~\$100 budget).
- d) Call for nominations for honorary fellows and merit award.
- e) Events
  - Challenges in getting smaller networking events up and running that are well received by the members.
  - Outcomes from recent major conferences in facilitating natural positive outcomes, and how to achieve it.

#### Meeting preference for committee meetings:

- Monthly frequency 8am-9am, first Tuesday of every month. Starting 5<sup>th</sup> September 2023.
   Starting with a face to face meeting.
- Preference for alternating between virtual & physical meetings at least quarterly for face-toface meeting
- Kelly (new Secretary) to lead meeting set-ups/invites.

#### **EIANZ Annual Report:**

Head office seeking contributions to the Annual Report

#### **MEETING CLOSED 9:30 am AEDT**